# Laser Display and Lighting Conference 2021 LDC 2021

Sponsored by **The Optical Society of Japan** 



Conference Co-chair **Prof. Kazuo Kuroda** 

Utsunomiya Univ.



Conference Co-chair **Prof. Hiroshi Murata** 

Mie Univ.



Conference Co-chair **Dr. Fergal Shevlin** 

DYOPTYKA

,

Welcome to the 10th Laser Display and Lighting Conference, LDC 2021!

LDC is an international conference on laser displays, laser lighting, and related technologies. The 1st, 2nd, 4th, and 6~8th LDC were held in Yokohama, Japan in 2012, 2013, 2015, and 2017~2019, respectively, the 3rd in Taichung, Taiwan in 2014, and the 5th in Jena, Germany in 2016. The 9th LDC was intended to be held in Yokohama, Japan, and switched to an on-line conference owing to the COVID-19 situation. The 10th LDC, LDC 2021 is being held as an on-line conference from 19st to 22nd April 2021. LDC 2021 is sponsored by the Optical Society of Japan, in cooperation with several academic societies and associations, and is operated by the Laser Display Research Group, the Optical Society of Japan.

LDC 2021 is intended to provide a central forum for the update and review of scientific and technical information on laser display and lighting covering a wide range of fields from fundamental research to systems and applications.

A total of 34 papers will be presented during the 4-day conference, consisting of 2 keynote talks, 15 invited papers, and 17 contributed papers; the relatively small number of submissions seems related to the difficulty of undertaking work of sufficient novelty for LDC over the last year due to the consequences of COVID-19 on our professional activities. A few post-deadline papers may be accepted.

In LDC 2021, three special sessions focusing on advanced AR, MR, VR XR technologies will be held on 19th and 20th April, where we will have stimulating invited talks from 6 expert speakers and contributed talks from 6 active speakers. Two exciting special sessions entitled 'Laser Technologies for Automotive Applications' will also be held with a number of distinguished speakers on 21st April. In these special sessions, state-of-the-art visible laser technology including excellent laser headlamps, advanced lidar, and new challenges for automotive, will be presented and discussed. After all the technical sessions, a ceremony for the LDC Best Paper Award and the LDC Student Award will be held for exceptional papers commended for their outstanding achievement.

We would like to extend our sincere thanks to all the presenters and participants of LDC 2021 for their contribution to the success of the conference. We also express our sincere thanks to the Takano-Eiichi Hikari-Kagaku-Kikin (Optical Science Foundation), the Japanese Society of Applied Physics, for the financial support. We hope that all the attendees enjoy the conference.

### **CONFERENCE CHAIR**

<Co-Chairs>

Kazuo Kuroda Utsunomiya Univ. Hiroshi Murata Mie Univ. Fergal Shevlin DYOPTYKA

## STEERING COMMITTEE

<Co-Chairs>

Kazuhisa Yamamoto Osaka Univ. Norihiro Ohse SONY <Members>

Makio Kurashige Dai Nippon Printing Atsushi Motogaito Mie Univ. Keizo Ochi Osaka Univ. Kayo Ogawa Japan Women's Univ. Shouichi Ozawa Techno Management Research

Fumio Narusawa HIOKI E.E. Corp. Shinji Saito Toshiba Corp. Ichiro Sato Bosch Corp. Tsutomu Shimura Univ. of Tokyo Tsuyoshi Suzudo Ricoh Industrial Solutions **Takunori Taira** National Inst. of Natural Science

Masashi Wada Gooch & Housego Japan

#### **PROGRAM COMMITTEE**

<Co-Chairs>

**Sunao Kurimura** National Inst. for Materials Science

Tetsuya Yagi Nichia Corp. Shining Zhu Nanjing Univ. <Vice co-chairs>

Tatsushi Hamaguchi SONY

Muneharu Kuwata Mitsubishi Electric Corp. Hirotsugu Yamamoto Utsunomiya Univ. <Members>

Frank Fischer BST Abdelmalek Hanafi BMW Hidekazu Hatanaka Ushio Ray-Hua Horng National Chiao Tung Univ. Masafumi Ide Lamda Works

Takaaki Ishigure Keio Univ. Masato Ishino Osaka Univ. Shunji Kamijima Epson Young-Joo Kim Yonsei Univ.
Junichi Kinoshita Osaka Univ.
Takuya Kushimoto Kyoto Univ.
Masaru Kuramoto Stanley
Hisashi Masuda Oxide
Osamu Matoba Kobe Univ.
Hiroyuki Matsumoto Iwasaki Electric
Tomoyuki Miyamoto Tokyo Inst. Tech.
Satoshi Ouchi Hitachi
Lung-Han Peng National Taiwan Univ.
Y-Q Qin Nanjing Univ.
Masayuki Takayama Honda

## **ADVISARY MEMBERS**

Ray-Hua Horng National Chung Hsing Univ. Yasuhiro Koike Keio Univ. Shigeo Kubota Oxide Corp.
Takashige Omatsu Chiba Univ.
Brian Schowengerdt Univ. of Washington Hiroaki Sugiura Mitsubishi Electric Corp.
Toshiaki Suhara Osaka Univ.
Andreas Tünnermann Fraunhofer Institute, IOF