The 11th Optical Manipulation and Structured Materials Conference OMC 2024

Sponsored by **SPIE.**



Conference Co-Chair **Takashige Omatsu**

Chiba University, Japan



Conference Co-Chair **Kishan Dholakia**

University of St. Andrews, UK



Conference Co-Chair **Sile Nic Chormaic**

Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University, Japan

Since the first demonstration of an optical tweezer based on optical radiation forces (scattering and gradient forces) created by a tightly focused laser beam, optical tweezers have been widely investigated in a variety of research fields, including biology, physics, and chemistry. In fact, Dr. A. Ashkin was awarded Nobel Prize in Physics, for contributing to a pioneering work of optical manipulation, 2018.

Conventional optical tweezers have been mostly adopted to dielectric particles with a dimension range from hundreds of nanometers to tens of micrometers. However, they do not always enable us to efficiently trap metallic particles.

In recent years, plasmonic tweezers based on enhanced radiation forces owing to surface plasmon polaritons in metallic nanostructures have been successfully demonstrated to efficiently trap and manipulate both nanosacle-sized dielectric and metallic particles.

Also, structured lights, such as higher order Laguerre-Gaussian and Bessel beams carry orbital angular momentum, and they provide unique tweezing abilities, for instance, for inducing an orbital motion of the trapped particles without employing mechanical systems.

Since 2014, the OMC has successfully collected more than 80 participants from home and abroad, and it marked its 10th anniversary last year! The OMC 2024 conference aims to present and discuss up-to-date scientific subjects, new technologies, and applications related to the fields of optical and plasmonic tweezers, the manipulation of nanostructures, structured optical fields and their satellite topics.

We hope that this conference will also facilitate scientific and professional networking as well as scientific inspiration through discussions.

Conference Co-Chairs

Takashige Omatsu *Chiba University, Japan*

Kishan Dholakia The University Australia University of St. Andrews, UK Sile Nic Chormaic Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University, Japan

Program Committee

Masaaki Ashida Osaka University Satoshi Ashihara The University of Tokyo **Kyoko Kitamura** Kyoto Institute of Technology

Ryuji Morita Hokkaido University Seigo Ohno Tohoku University Ichiro Shoji Chuo University Kyunghwan Oh Yonsei University Yasuyuki Kimura Kyusyu University Kyoko Namura Kyoto University Yung-Fu Chen National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan

Yuichi Kozawa Tohoku University Yoko Miyamoto The University of Electro-Communications, Japan **Hiromi Okamoto** Institute for Molecular Science, Japan

Yauhiro Sugawara Osaka University, Japan

Xiaodi Tan Fujian Normal University, China

Yasuyuki Tsuboi Osaka City University, Japan

Nirmal Viswanathan *University of Hyderabad, India*